The ISTQB Advanced Test Analyst course builds the knowledge gained in the ISTQB Foundation certificate to an advanced level, for test analysts. Obtaining the ISTQB Foundation Certificate is a prerequisite for delegates attending this course. In addition, it is recommended that delegates have a minimum of 3 years of testing experience before attempting this qualification.

The Advanced Test Analyst Certificate is one of the three advanced testing certificates, the others are Advanced Test Manager and Advanced Technical Test Analyst. Candidates may find the BCS Intermediate Certificate a useful bridge between Foundation and Advanced, although it is not mandatory.

Who is this aimed at?

The Advanced Test Analyst course is intended for testing practitioners who are, or intend to become test analysts.

What are the entry requirements?

Successful completion of the ISTQB-BCS Certified Tester foundation level and a minimum of three years testing experience is recommended. The Intermediate Certificate may also be helpful but is not required. Training with a BCS accredited training provider is recommended.

What format is the exam?
  • Three hours ‘closed book’
  • 60 complex multiple choice questions
  • Pass mark is 65%

Course Outline


Module 1: Testing Processes

Module 2: Test Management Responsibilities of the Test Analyst

Module 3: Introduction to Test Design Techniques

Module 4: Fundamental Test Design Techniques

Module 5: Combinational Test Design Techniques

Module 6: Other Test Design Techniques

Module 7: Experience-Based Test Techniques

Module 8: Testing Quality (“Non-Functional”) Characteristics

Module 9: Reviews

Module 10: Incident and Defect Management

Module 11: Test Tools and Automation